Thanksgiving Resolution

iPhone 009I’ve officially declared Thanksgiving as my favorite holiday.  You get to eat good food and hang out with your family and focus on what you’re grateful for.  I mean, what’s not to love about that?   I was able to spend my Thanksgiving doing just those things and it was great.

Like a lot of families, we go around before dinner and say what we are thankful for and this is what I shared this year:

“There are a lot of things I’m thankful for, but when I think about what I am most grateful for, it’s the people around me.  You always hear the saying that it takes a village to raise a child, which is true…but I think that you also need a  village to sustain us as adults too.  I’m so thankful for the group of people around me that have seen me at my worst but still believe in my best.  It’s been a rough year for a lot of us, but through the loss and the struggle, we’ve had our village.  We’ve had each other, and for that my heart is completely overwhelmed with gratitude.”

Maybe instead of a New Year’s resolution, I’ll make a Thanksgiving resolution instead.  Through the upcoming year, I resolve to pause for quiet moments and express gratitude for that which sustains me.  It shouldn’t be hard, I have a lot to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

