Awesome Ideas From Awesome People

You will never run out of amazing things to stumble upon on the internet, but most of the coolest things I find come from people sharing what’s inspired them.  Here are 3 of my favorite things from this week brought to you by 3 of my favorite little hipsters.

imageThis newsletter…
Musicgeeks

 

Derek’s newsletter is like having a hip friend that is totally into music, making you a mixed tape of new or obscure artists that you would never find on your own.  I’ve been signed up for his emails for about a month now and he delivers a little nugget of fresh music and quirky dance videos to your inbox most days.

I’m someone with broad tastes but no clue about music, and I’ve found some artists that I enjoy (Where else would I have come across a hip-hop group called the CunninLynguists and their catchy ode to drunk dialing).  Even if the song-of-the-day is not really your thing, his convincing commentaries make you want to like it.  If you listen to his suggestions, I promise you will automatically be 10 times more hip than you are right now.

 

image[1]This article…
Our Love/Hate Relationship With Work by Joshua Becker of Becoming Minimalist

 

All jobs are tough.  Some days are long and things just don’t go well.  When things aren’t going well, you either need a new job or a new perspective.  This was exactly what I needed to read this week and his thoughts about where to find our motivation to work shifted my perspective.  He gave me a new way to look at work by focusing on it as your way of contributing to this world.  Honestly, it made it just a wee bit easier to schlep myself out of bed in the mornings and get my butt to work.

 

image[2]This Quote…
The Universe added one more day in your life today; not necessarily because you need it, but because someone else might need you.
-Timber Hawkeye

Along those same lines, this piece of wisdom floated into my facebook feed a few days ago from an author I’ve found inspriration in, Timber Hawkeye, and I had to put it on a post-it and hang it up by my desk at work.  The phrase “Live each day like its your last” has never really rang true to me.  If today was really your last day here, you sure wouldn’t go to work or clean your house or put money in your 401(k).  But this sentiment, I can completely get down with.   He’s written a book, Buddhist Boot Camp, which I have yet to read, but is definitely on my to-do list.  I always find his bits of insight refreshing.

 

So, go out there and be awesome!

 

Leave a Reply

